Login
Questions or Comments!
admin@frumsupport.com

Get FrumSupport News! Join our mailing list.
Email:

Search

Navigation:

Tehilim List  < Refresh >
TOPIC TITLE: Drug resistant depression
Created On 4/3/06 2:24 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

ernie55B
Senior Supporter

4/3/06 2:24 PM

Hello Rabbi/Dr. Price,

I have been battling depression for over 35 years now. I have tried almost every drug, and done much therapy, to no avail.
I have come to the conclusion that this is something I will have to live with the rest of my life.

I do NOT feel comfortable with this condition, as some have suggested. During the few brief days in my life when I felt life was worth living, I liked it and wanted it to continue.
But I feel like this darkness is impossible to shake. There is something within me that causes me to crave death.
The other day, I heard of a mid-40 yr. old man who died of a heart attack. I was down all day, because I was envious of him.

Are there some people who are destined to go through life living as I am?
In your experience, can a person who has been depressed for decades lead a normal life?

Thank You,
Ernie

Bottom

Dr. Price MD
Psychiatrist

4/3/06 11:11 PM

I have seen some people who thought they had tried every alternative only to find the magic cocktail of several different medications and therapy that clicked. That being said there is an evolutionary hypothesis for refractory depression which in a twisted way promotes survival. This theory posits that as long as one is dis-eased there is a magnetic force which pulls others in to help and support this person. Once well, these supports disappear leaving this person vulnerable and alone. A viscous cycle indeed but can also be broken with therapy. Where there is life there is hope and where there is hope there is life. Hold on, my friend. There is a purpose even in suffering.

Rabbi Price, M.D.

Bottom

ernie55B
Senior Supporter

4/5/06 7:21 AM

Hello Dr. Price, (Do you prefer Rabbi?)