Login
Questions or Comments!
admin@frumsupport.com

Get FrumSupport News! Join our mailing list.
Email:

Search

Navigation:

Tehilim List  < Refresh >
TOPIC TITLE: hair pulling
Created On 5/21/09 11:38 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

seekinganswers
Junior Supporter

5/21/09 11:38 PM

hi everyone.
I've been pulling out my hair for the last fifteen years. BAD. I hate myself for doing it. It's like an urge I can't control.
My T. brushed it off like no big deal and i feel like it is a big deal. It took me years to tell her. Now I'm with a new therapist and I can't even
bring myself to tell him-I'm too embarrassed. Thanks for listening.

Seeking answers

Bottom

gad
Senior Supporter

5/22/09 3:19 AM

Why not get a second opinion? You can tell him that the first therapist thought it was nothing, but it bothers you. Maybe he'll have good advice for you.

And as for the embarrassment, I don't think there is anything to be embarrassed about. You didn't do anything wrong. If anything it sounds like a nervous thing, and maybe he'll be able to help.

Bottom

killedlastyear
Senior Supporter

5/22/09 8:57 AM

is it trich? (i forget the full name of it sorry). it's a compulsion to pull out hair. it's real though. maybe your old therapist wasn't really aware of it?
if you could try to tell your new therapist that would prob be best. also it'd prob be helpful to explain to him how your old therapist didn't take it very seriously and let him know that it's really affecting you and how powerful it is over your self-esteem.
this sounds like something you really need to get help with.

please please please realize that it's nothing to be embarrassed about! you aren't the only one out there doing it! i did a report for school on OCD and "trich" is a real thing!
As a self-injurer I know how difficult it is to bring these things up in therapy though... if you need any moral support I'm here!

Bottom

Aba
Senior Supporter

5/22/09 9:42 AM
User is offline View users profile