Login
Questions or Comments!
admin@frumsupport.com

Get FrumSupport News! Join our mailing list.
Email:

Search

Navigation:

Tehilim List  < Refresh >
TOPIC TITLE: Article on kids coping with Crohn's Disease
Created On 3/19/09 8:22 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

tovamos
Junior Supporter

3/19/09 8:22 AM
User is offline View users profile

Hi,
I'm a writer for a major Jewish newspaper, and I am currently working on an article discussing ways of helping kids cope with Crohn's Disease, which no doubt separates them from many of their peers because of dietary restrictions and missing school, etc.
Can anyone share some tips or information on how they've helped kids cope with the disease, or remember coping themselves? I will not use names, and you can give me any alias you so choose. Please help: this information could help others out there searching for answers.
Thanks so much!

-------------------------
Tova Ross

Bottom

rh1211
Junior Supporter

3/22/09 3:58 PM

Hiding Crohn's is hard, and even though many people seek to do that for shidduchim purposes, I would suggest that talking about one's pain is very helpful. Picking one or two friends and/or mentors with whom one can discuss their situation would do the trick, if one would really rather keep their Crohn's a secret.

The thing that helped me the most was keeping my life as normal as possible. I would go to school and work as much as I could, and attended social events (chagigas, weddings, etc.) as often as possible, instead of just skipping them just because I was a little under the weather. That way, I didn't feel like Crohn's was overtaking my life, and I had things to distract me from my pain.

Hope this helps!

Bottom

tomidbsimcha
Supporter

3/23/09 2:18 PM