Login
Questions or Comments!
admin@frumsupport.com

Get FrumSupport News! Join our mailing list.
Email:

Search

Navigation:

Tehilim List  < Refresh >
TOPIC TITLE: Diabetes type 2
Created On 8/29/05 12:38 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

NeedSupport
Supporter

8/29/05 12:38 PM

Hi all!
I'm new here, I have diabetes type 2 and PCOS.
so far dr said I don't need insulin, I'm trying to control my sugar with Metformin and diet, and I lost 20 lbs.
I've been testing my sugar for about 3 months and lately the numbers are very high.
I have a follow up appt. tomorrow and I'm positive the dr will put me on Insulin.
Last time she said that if I will need Insulin, I won't need a/thing serious, just Lantus, which is a base, and I will only need to inject once in 24 hrs. Lantus doesn't really peak, it goes on a slow steady level for 24 hrs. the dr did give me some syringes and a bottle of water so in case if I need to take insulin I should learn how to inject, the injections are not very bad. (I've only done it a few times, well see what I say if I need it every day).
I test sugar twice a day (not any specific time, dr said to test every day 2 diff. times, like once pre breakfast and post dinner, or post breakfast and before bed, I alternate)
The hardest part for me is the diet.. I lost 20 lbs. but I'm not even a little bit proud. I need to lose another 120 to get to my average weight.
e/one tells me that after a while the cravings stop.. that didn't happen by me so far.. when it comes to food I have absolutely 0 self control.

Bottom

BH613
Supporter

8/30/05 3:51 PM

Needs Support,
I am in a rather similar boat to you. I have been diagnosed with type 2 just 2 months agoa and am now on fortamet. The doctor said that if this does not work, I will need insulin. I have PCOS also. I need to lose 100 pounds and am struggling to do so. I lose two pounds and gain 3. Maybe we can be a support to each other. Would you mind a private email message?
Miriam

Bottom

BH613