Login
Questions or Comments!
admin@frumsupport.com

Get FrumSupport News! Join our mailing list.
Email:

Search

Navigation:

Tehilim List  < Refresh >
TOPIC TITLE: peanut and multiple allergies
Created On 2/12/05 6:49 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

Nachum
Junior Supporter

2/12/05 6:49 PM
User is offline View users profile

I am posting here an email exchange between myself and Dr Hoffer. Dr Hoffer has been a leader in the orthomolecular medicine movement for over fifty years. He founded the Journal of Orthomolecular Medicine and coined the term "orthomolecular medicine." I have been doing this now for over two years with tremendous results on my personal allergies. Never use a time release niacin, for some reason they have been shown to be dangerous.

Dear Dr. Hoffer, I work in special ed and read your wonderful book ABC's, in addition to helping many of my students and other people that I know, I started taking 1/2 gram of niacin three times per day for the flush effect. I have many food allergies and chemical sensitivities. Now if a little wheat or food coloring or strong fragrance slips in, instead of feeling ill and lethargic for two to four days I flush a little stronger. Now a strong flush feels like a little sunburn, when I first started a year and a half ago, I turned beet red from head to toe for five days. Thank You for this insight and G-d Bless you, Rabbi Nachum Bergos

Dear Rabbi Bergos: Thank you very much for your kind message. I am pleased that my books have been so helpful. Niacin decreases histamine levels and in this way reduces the intensity of many allergic reactions. I use it in combination with vitamin C to protect people against the terrible peanut allergy. If one reduces the amount of histamine to a very low level the allergic reactions can not be as dangerous. Guinea pigs given niacin and then exposed to anaphylactic shock do not die in contrast to the ones not so protected A, Hoffer

Bottom

jersey32gal
Junior Supporter